Wandsworth Design Awards launch

Wandsworth Council has launched the 2018 Wandsworth Design Awards to find the borough’s best-designed buildings.

The Awards, now in their 19th year, reward high-quality design. Anyone can nominate schemes for consideration, projects must have been completed between 1 January 2015 and 30 September 2017.

The winners will be selected by a panel of judges comprising councillors, including the borough’s design and heritage champions, local architects, representatives of the Wandsworth Design Review Panel, local amenity societies and the Wandsworth Access Association. The awards will be presented in 2018.

The aim of the competition is to recognise and promote new buildings and spaces that demonstrate excellence in sustainable design and construction and make a positive contribution to their local area.

The competition incorporates the Wandsworth Access Awards which aims to encourage architects and builders to come up with innovative, intelligent and inclusive designs that fully meet the needs of people with disabilities.

Nominations can be made for all types of development, including:

  • Access to buildings – improved provision for people with disabilities
  • Residential extensions (including loft extensions)
  • Restoration/conversion projects, including schemes which introduce new uses to older buildings
  • Offices and Shopfronts (new or restored)
  • New buildings
  • Public spaces
  • Landscape projects including front gardens
  • Sustainable buildings/spaces – buildings/spaces demonstrating excellence in sustainable design and construction

Nominations must be submitted by 30 September 2017 on the Awards website.


This entry was posted in Wandsworth. Bookmark the permalink.