PM appoints airport committee

The Prime Minister has appointed the members of the committee that will onsider the recommendations of Sir Howard Davies’ Airports Commission.

The Economic Affairs (Airports) sub-Committee will consider the report and the Government response. It will be chaired by Prime Minister David Cameron.

The members areĀ ChancellorĀ George Osborne, Business Secretary Sajid Javid, Transport Secretary Patrick McLoughlin, Environment Secretary Liz Truss, Scotland Secretary David Mundell, Communities Secretary Greg Clark, Energy Secretary Amber Rudd, Cabinet Office minister Oliver Letwin and Chief Whip Mark Harper.

None of the members are London MPs, there has been a call that no-one with a direct constituency interest around either Heathrow or Gatwick should be involved in the discussions.

Critics suggest that the make up of the committee – since it does not include known opponents of expansion at Heathrow like Theresa May (Maidenhead) or Justine Greening (Putney) – is biased in favour of Heathrow. However, it may be that it is simply not biased against Heathrow or Gatwick but open to considering both.

This entry was posted in General, Heathrow. Bookmark the permalink.