New cabinet for Harrow

The ousted Labour Group leader on Harrow Council, still Leader of the Council, has named a new cabinet made up of members from his new, breakaway, Independent Labour group.

Leader of the Council, Cllr Thaya Idaikkadar will be in charge of finance, contracts and procurement, business transformation, customer service and communications and corporate services; while Deputy Leader, Cllr Asad Omar, is the new cabinet member responsible for environment, community and culture and housing.

Cllr Zarina Khalid, Cllr Krishna James, also join the cabinet, while Cllr Will Stoodley is the new cabinet member for Planning & Regeneration

Cllr Idaikkadar said: “There will be no great changes in policy. The council has agreed a two-year budget and Corporate Plan which will continue to set the direction of the council.”

Cllr Idaikkadar was recently ousted as leader of the majority Labout Group on the council by Cllr David Perry, so this cabinet could be short-lived. The Mayor-making ceremony is on May 21, so that could end this cabinet’s reign, although both the present Mayor and the Mayor-elect are in the breakaway group, and with the split of eight away from the controlling Labour Group, no one group has an overall majority. So the disarray could continue.

This entry was posted in Harrow. Bookmark the permalink.