MPs oppose third runway

Ten back-bench MPs have signed a motion calling for plans for a third runway at Heathrow to be scrapped.

Junior minister Ann Keen, MP for Hounslow, Osterley, Gunnersbury, Brentford, Isleworth and Chiswick, has already declared her opposition to the development. More Labour MPs are expected to sign the motion.

The motion is also backed by Hayes and Harlington MP John McDonnell. The Evening Standard reports that Labour MP John Grogan said: “Some senior ministers have encouraged me to table this motion as there are increasing doubts in government about pressing on regardless with the third runway.”

While the ministers are not named by Grogan, the Standard speculates that since Climate Change Secretary Ed Miliband, Foreign Secretary David Miliband, Universities Secretary John Denham and Commons Leader Harriet Harman have been said to have concerns over a third runway, they may be involved, but this was merely speculation.

Transport secretary Geoff Hoon is not due to announce his decision until later in the year, but has hinted that he is likely to support the proposed expansion.

The commons motion for calling for the rethink has been tabled by John Grogan, the Labour MP for Selby.

This entry was posted in General, Hillingdon, Hounslow. Bookmark the permalink.