Mayor appoints “good growth” commissioners

The Mayor of London, Sadiq Khan, has appointed ten new commissioners to the London Sustainable Development Commission (LSDC) following a formal recruitment process.

The new commissioners will serve alongside the newly appointed Chair, Dr Ashok Sinha, and existing commissioners, to help the city meet the challenges of a rapidly growing population, rising inequality and mitigating climate change.

The LSDC was established in 2002 to advise the Mayor of London on sustainability issues including ways to improve and protect Londoners’ quality of life, now and in the future.

The new commissioners are:

  • Maria Adebowale-Schwarte – Founding Director of the Living Space Project
  • Syed Ahmed – Director of Energy for London
  • Sarah Chare – Director of Operations at the Environment Agency, South & East
  • Anna Coote – Principal Fellow at the New Economics Foundation
  • David Elliott – Chief Executive of Trees for Cities
  • Samantha Heath – Chief Executive of the London Sustainability Exchange
  • Julie Hirigoyen – Chief Executive of the UK Green Building Council
  • Nick Mabey – Chief Executive of E3G
  • Malini Mehra – Chief Executive of GLOBE International
  • Dimitri Zenghelis – Principal Research Fellow at the LSE’s Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment

The Mayor of London Sadiq Khan welcomed the new commissioners to the LSDC, saying: “We’ve selected the very best from across London’s diverse sustainability sector to join the new-look commission and help ensure that our world-class city is a sustainable one: now and in the future.

“These ten new appointments will join the eight existing commissioners in bringing a wealth and diversity of experience to this important advisory body. I look forward to working with them, and the new Chair Dr Ashok Sinha, to meet the challenges posed by a rapidly growing population, social inequality, climate change and the need for London to shift to a low-carbon economy.

“I would also like to thank our outgoing commissioners for all their hard work and dedication over the last few years.”

The Chair of the LSDC, Dr Ashok Sinha, said: “Solving London’s big sustainability challenges requires utilising London’s wealth of talents and ideas; the new-look commission provides access to these.  I look forward to working with my fellow commissioners – themselves respected leaders drawn from the city’s economic, social, environmental and governance sectors – to provide the Mayor with imaginative and workable solutions to create a more equitable city that lives within its environmental means, now and in the future.”

The new-look commission will focus on promoting good economic growth, improving the quality of life for all Londoners while respecting the environment and promoting social cohesion and inclusion.

The commission will strive to ensure sustainability is at the core of policies and strategies impacting on London, and will help make sustainability a meaningful concept for Londoners.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.