As you were in West London

The General Election has not altered the political map in West London, with the sitting MPs generally holding their seats, although Brentford & Isleworth’s Ruth Cadbury extended her majority hugely, and two familiar faces resurfaced south of the river.

Cadbury engineered a 13% growth in her vote, pushing a slender previous majority of 500 out to 12000.

Also for Labour, John McDonnell held Hayes and Harlington, Seema Malhotra held Feltham and Heston, Virendra Sharma held Ealing Southall, Andy Slaughter held Hammersmith & Fulham, Dawn Butler held Brent Central, Barry Gardiner held Brent North, Gareth Thomas held Harrow West, Steve Pound held Ealing North, Tan DHesi held Slough, and Rupa Huq held Ealing Central & Acton.

West London thus remained largely Labour, although its Tories held on, Nick Hurd in Ruislip, Northwood & Pinner, and Boris Johnson, who is now 2:1 favourite to be the next Tory leader, in Uxbridge and South Ruislip.

Two old faces returned in a seat swap south of the river. Vince Cable took Twickenham from the Tories for the LibDems, and Zac Goldsmith won Richmond Park for the Tories from the LibDems – by just 45 votes. Justine Greening held on to Putney for the Tories.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.